Minutes of the IPS Business Meeting 24th May 2008, Nara, Japan

The following members of the IPS Board met on 21 May 2008.

Mike Wall (President), David Henson (Sec), Ulrich Schiefer (Treas)

Fritz Dannheim, David Garway-Heath, Aiko Iwase, Ronald Harwerth, Chris Johnson Chota Matsumoto, Richard Mills, Yoshio Yamasaki, Linda Zangwill, Manuel Gonzalez de la Rosa, Marta Gonzalez-Hernandez.

1.0 Issues arising from 2006 meeting

Promotional IPS slides on IPS web site. Mike Wall invites members to send slides to him for placing on the IPS website.

Opportunity fund. Chris Johnson would still like to promote the Opportunity Fund. David Garway-Heath proposed setting up a sub-committee to look at how the fund will be used. Chris Johnson agreed to be chair of the committee with David Garway-Heath and Mike Wall as members. Members interested in becoming members of this subcommittee were invited to contact Chris Johnson.

Name change. The proposed name change to Imaging and Perimetry Society (IPS) with an updated mission statement was accepted by the membership.

2.0 Secretary's report

The Secretary reported that the number of IPS members had increased by 10 to174, however, there are still a significant number of members who are in arrears (see treasurer's report).

The call for papers for the Nara meeting was entirely via email/web and 61 abstracts were received 60 of which were accepted for presentation after each application had been reviewed by 2 members of the IPS.

Three travel grants of \$900 have been awarded to Jonathan Denniss (UK), Tony Redmond (UK) and Katarzyna Nowomiejska. Ulrich Schiefer proposed that the recipients of the awards should be listed upon the IPS web site and that recipients should be asked to acknowledge support of the IPS in any publications related to the work presented at the IPS meeting. It was agreed to continue with the current travel awards for a maximum of 4 people and to consider increasing the number and funding of awards in the future. Work on maintaining a Treasurer's database of members continues well. The Society would like to thank Jens Paetzold who has assisted Ulrich Schiefer in setting up this database and welcomes Bettina Selig who has taken over this role. Trish Duffel (Iowa) currently maintains the IPS membership database on the web site and Patrice Henson maintains the Secretary's membership database. Some work is still needed to keep the databases in line with each other, however, there is good communication between Bettina, Patrice and Trish and the Board wish to thank them all for the work they have undertaken over the last 2 years.

3.0 Standards Sub Committee

A new IPS Standards and Guidelines document has been produced by the Standards subcommittee (definition of terms still needs to be completed). A number of amendments were suggested and it was agreed that these should be emailed to the chairman of the subcommittee (Pam Sample) who will review them and, following the completion of the Definition of Terms, will submit the final document to Mike Wall for uploading on to the IPS website.

The membership wished to thank Pam Sample and the sub-committee for all the work they had done in putting together the Guidelines.

4.0 Publication of proceedings

There are no arrangements for the publication of the abstracts for the 2008 meeting. Mike Wall raised the issue of whether or not we should re-introduce the publication of the IPS meeting proceedings.

The Board's proposal that the proceedings of the next meeting should be electronically published on the IPS web site was accepted by the membership. The preferred format being an extended abstract of their presentation.

5.0 IPS Logo

At the Board meeting Ulrich Schiefer asked if the logo of the IPS should be changed to take into account the imaging role of the society.

The membership agreed that maintaining the current logo was important but that this issue should be raised again at future meetings.

6.0 Heidelberg Award

Fritz Dannheim along with Linda Zangwill, Ron Harwerth and David Garway-Heath scored all eligible presentations this year and will be asking Gerhart Zinser (Heidelberg Engineering) to make the award (\$5000) at the closing banquet.

7.0 Venue of next meetings

The members were given a presentation by Manuel Gonzalez de la Rosa and Marta Gonzalez-Hernandez on the next IPS symposium (2010) location in Tenerife, Spain on the 23-26th March 2010.

Andrew Turpin along with Andrew Anderson, and Alison McKendrick made a proposal to host the 2012 meeting in Palm Cove, Australia. The membership enthusiastically accepted the proposal and asked the Australian team to proceed with arrangements and to report further details at the 2010 meeting.

Members interested in hosting the 2014 meeting were asked to prepare brief presentations for the 2010 meeting.

8.0 Treasurer's report

Any Other Business

There was no further business.